Reel Review: FX’s Legion

web_largecoverart_series_legion_270x398

Welcome Back To Reel Cinema Review! Today, I’m going to be reviewing FX’s new show Legion!

Now for those of you living under a rock and not watching TV or at least ADs online (Facebook informed me of the show), then you probably missed this premiere. The show is called Legion (no it doesn’t have anything to do with the 2010 movie – which I actually enjoyed). It is basically about Professor X – Ya know, from the X Men- son, David Haller. For me personally, I figured that this had something to do with the X Men from the title logo alone. The x-ed out ‘ O’ kind of gave it away for me. However, my mind didn’t automatically travel to Professor X’s son.  If you aren’t familiar with this character I’m linking his Comicvine information here for you to read about.

237px-xmen40

I am personally familiar with this character, or at least I’ve heard of him way before now. However, I don’t believe he’s a very major character like Scott Summers or Laura Kinney ( X-23). I don’t read the comics but I frequently check the universe to see where it’s at and what’s happening. Maybe I’ve missed the huge arcs with Legion included, but to my knowledge I don’t believe he’s a main character in the current arc (S). DON’T ROAST ME OVER AN OPEN FIRE.

With that being said, It kind of baffled me how Legion of all characters would get his own title series. If someone watched this show without any previous knowledge of this character then they would probably think this is just another weird FX show and not link this to X Men or even the idea of any of the characters being mutants. While the comic Character seems cool, the first episode fell just a little bit flat to me and here’s why:

  • It was visually beautiful while at the same time a little overwhelming at times.

I really liked the look of the show. It had an 80’s sort of feel to it. The visuals were just so eye engaging, but I kinda got a sensory overload at times. I’m the type to look all over the screen to try and find easter eggs and references and while this had a few, it just felt like too much to try and take in in general. Like, the studio really wanted this to be a mind cluster but pushed the “mental” feel. As though they really wanted to get in your mind but because it was too much at times, my mind kinda shut down at times.

  • The story was too “broken” at times. A little hard to follow.

It’s a story about a mutant who’s mental, that’s enough. I really don’t need to be flipped back and forth all over a storyline in the FIRST EPISODE. It started off fantastic in the beginning with Happy Jack by The Who trailing his life from infancy to adulthood. I enjoyed those visuals, but SPOILER ALERT – I wanted to understand what caused him to really “snap” as in – what caused his telepathy/pyrokinesis/mutant powers to actually occur. I know they’re going to answer that later in the series and they don’t want to give too much away now, but just a little more backstory would have been great.

  • Are they going to introduce other mutants?

I’ve read beforehand that this story takes place in an alternative world from that of the X Men. Since that’s the case, is anything from the ‘main’ world going to crossover into the Legion world/universe? Some of the ‘mutants’ in the show reminded me of  an ALT UNI versions of Rogue *wink* *wink*.

 

From my notes above, the show fell kinds flat during certain moments. Nonetheless, I did enjoy the show and will stick around for the later episodes. Now, portions I did like:

  • The Music! The music did it for me, each song that play represented each scene very well.
  • Loved the intro, even though it felt rushed. ( Is it just me or did it remind anyone else of Watchmen? It had that kinda vibe to it also)
  • I loved the scene where he’s lying in bed sleep and there’s a book besides him on the nightstand titled “Robots”. Mind you, robots are mindless and emotionless creations not capable of feeling. Basically they have no conscious. David is trapped in a mental hospital. I’m pretty sure he wants to be conscious-less as possible.
  • Sidney (ALT Rogue) is the light at the end of the tunnel. Maybe I’m reading too much into it, but there’s a group therapy scene and Sidney walks in the light and her appearance is being overshadowed by the sun shining in behind her. Later on in the episode she saves David after he sees the light above him. Hmmm. During this scene “She’s a Rainbow” is playing by The Rolling Stones.
  • That short fat man with the yellow eyes is SCARY AS H-E DOUBLE HOCKEY-STICKS! My internal level of being creeped out was raised to the max when he would appear on camera, especially in the last scene when David saw him before he left the mental hospital. The shot fat dude was in the background subtly watching.

 

If you have seen this show, drop me a comment down below and let me know what YOU think! I would love to know!

 

Leave a Reply

